Do you know the "Rules Of The Road" for inland waterways? Have you taken a Boater Safety course yet? It is mandatory for most people:
ALL Oregon residents must now carry the Oregon boater education card when operating powerboats (including personal watercraft or any motorized watercraft) greater than 10 hp.
-Children under 12 years old may not operate any power boat.
-Children 12 to 15 years old are required to carry their Oregon Boater Education Card on-board AND have a Card-holding adult (16 years of age or older, 18 years of age for personal watercraft) on-board in direct supervision in order to operate a powered watercraft GREATER than 10 hp.
-Children 12 to 15 years of age can operate a motorboat of 10 hp or less alone if holding a boater education card.
-Children must be 12 years old to take their Oregon Boater Safety Course & Exam and receive their Boater Education Card.
You must have a Washington State Boater Education Card to operate a motorized watercraft of 15 HP or more if you were born on or after January 1st, 1955.
-When the final phase of the law comes into effect in 2016, all boaters over the age of 12 will be required to have a Boater Education Card
-Children under the age of 12 may not operate a watercraft with a motor larger than 15 horsepower.
-Children aged 12 and over may operate a watercraft with a motor larger than 15 horsepower if they have their Washington Boater Education Card.
-All watercraft which have a motor larger than 15 horsepower require the operator to carry a valid Boater Education Card, including personal watercraft such as jet skis.